State Veterinarians

Each state has a veterinarian that is hired by state that oversees all health issues and entry permits for all animals within or coming within their state. See states and vets below.

 

Alabama

 

Dr. Anthony G. Frazier, State Veterinarian

Alabama Department of Agriculture & Industries

1445 Federal Drive , Room 110

P.O. Box 3336

Montgomery , AL 36109-0336

334-240-7253 (Office)

334-240-7198 (Fax)

E-Mail: stvet@agi.alabama.gov

Web site: www.agi.alabama.gov

 

Alaska

 

Dr. Robert Gerlach, VMD, State Veterinarian

5251 Hinkle Road

Anchorage , AK 99507

907-375-8214 (Office)

907-929-7335 (Fax)

E-Mail: bob_gerlach@dec.state.ak.us

Web site: www.dec.state.ak.us

 

Arizona

 

Dr. Richard D. Willer, State Veterinarian

1688 W. Adams

Phoenix , AZ 85007

602-542-4293 (Office)

602-542-4290 (Fax)

E-Mail: rwiller@azda.gov

Web site: www.azda.gov

 

Arkansas

 

Dr. George Pat Badley, State Veterinarian

P.O. Box 8505

Little Rock , AR 72215

501-907-2400 (Office)

501-907-2425 (Fax)

Web site: www.arlpc.org

 

California

 

Dr. Richard E. Breitmeyer, State Veterinarian

Dr. Annette Whiteford, Director AHFSS

California Department of Food and Agriculture

1220 N Street, Suite 409

Sacramento , CA 95814

916-654-0881 (Dr. Whiteford Office)

916-651-6870 (Dr. Breitmeyer Office)

916-651-6278 (PERMIT LINE)

916-651-0713 (Dr. Breitmeyer Fax)

916-653-4249 (Dr. Whiteford Fax)

E-Mail: cavet@cdfa.ca.gov

Web site: www.cdfa.ca.gov

 

Colorado

 

Dr. John Maulsby, State Veterinarian

700 Kipling St., Suite 4000

Lakewood , CO 80215

303-239-4161 (Office)

303-239-4164 (Fax)

E-Mail: john.maulsby@ag.state.co.us

Web site: www.ag.state.co.us

 

Connecticut

 

Dr. Mary J. Lis, State Veterinarian

Connecticut Department of Agriculture

165 Capitol Avenue , Room G-8A

Hartford , CT 06106

860-713-2505 (Office)

860-713-2515 (Fax)

E-Mail: mary.lis@ct.gov

Web site: www.ct.gov/doag

 

Delaware

 

Sara Busch, DVM, State Veterinarian

Delaware Department of Agriculture

2320 S. DuPont Highway

Dover , DE 19901

302-698-4560 (Office)

302-697-4451 (Fax)

E-Mail: sara.busch@state.de.us

 

Florida

 

Dr. Thomas J. Holt, State Veterinarian and Director

Division of Animal Industry

Florida Dept. of Agriculture and Consumer Services

407 S. Calhoun St .

Mayo Building , Room 335

Tallahassee , FL 32399-0800

850-410-0900 (Office) or 850-410-0959 (Permits)

850-410-0915 (Fax)

E-Mail: holtt@doacs.state.fl.us

Web site: doacs.state.fl.us/ai

 

Georgia

 

Mr. Lee M. Myers, State Veterinarian

Assistant Commissioner of Animal Industry

Georgia Department of Agriculture

19 Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive , Room 106

Atlanta , GA 30334-4201

404-656-3671 (Office)

404-657-1357 (Fax)

E-Mail: lmyers@agr.state.ga.us

Web site: www.georgia.gov

 

Hawaii

 

Dr. James Foppoli, State Veterinarian and Division Administrator

Division of Animal Industry

Hawaii Department of Agriculture

99-941 Halawa Valley Street

Aiea , HI 96701-5602

808-483-7111 (Office)

808-483-7110 (Fax)

E-Mail: james.m.foppoli@hawaii.gov

Web site: hawaii.gov/hdoa

 

Idaho

 

Greg Ledbetter, DVM, Administrator

Division of Animal Industries

Idaho Department of Agriculture

P.O. Box 7249

Boise , ID 83707-9985

208-332-8540 (Office)

208-334-4062 (Fax)

E-Mail: agri.idaho.gov

Web site: www.agri.idaho.gov

Illinois

 

Mark J. Ernst, DVM, State Veterinarian/Bureau Chief

Bureau of Animal Health and Welfare

Illinois Department of Agriculture

P.O. Box 19281 , State Fairgrounds

Springfield , IL 62794-9281

217-782-4944 (Office)

217-558-6033 (Fax)

E-Mail: mark.ernst@illinois.gov

Web site: www.agr.state.il.us

 

Indiana

 

Dr. Bret D. Marsh, State Veterinarian

Indiana State Board of Animal Health

805 Beachway Drive, Suite 50

Indianapolis , IN 46224-7785

317-227-0300 (Office)

317-227-0368 (Fax)

E-Mail: bmarsh@boah.in.gov

Web site: www.boah.in.gov

 

Iowa

 

David D. Schmitt, DVM, Acting State Veterinarian

Bureau of Animal Industry

State of Iowa Department of Agriculture

502 E. 9th Street

Des Moines , IA 50319

515-281-5305(Office)

515-281-4282 (Fax)

E-Mail: david.schmitt@idals.state.ia.us

Web site: www.agriculture.state.ia.us/

 

Kansas

 

Mr. George Teagarden, Livestock Commissioner

Kansas Animal Health Department

708 SW Jackson

Topeka , KS 66603 -3714

785-296-2326 (Office)

785-296-1795 (Fax)

E-Mail: gteagarden@kahd.ks.gov

Web site: www.accesskansas.org/kahd

Kentucky

 

Dr. Robert C. Stout, State Veterinarian

100 Fair Oaks Lane, Suite 252

Frankfort , KY 40601

502-564-3956 (Office)

502-564-7852 (Fax)

E-Mail: robert.stout@ky.gov

Web site: www.kyagr.com

 

Louisiana

 

Dr. Henry L. Moreau, State Veterinarian

Office of Animal Health Services

Livestock Sanitary Board

P.O. Box 1951

Baton Rouge , LA 70821

225-925-3980 (Office)

225-925-4103 (Fax)

E-Mail: hmoreau@ldaf.state.la.us

Web site: www.ldaf.state.la.us

 

Maine

 

Dr. Donald E. Hoenig, State Veterinarian

Department of Agriculture – Food and Rural Resources

28 State House Station

Augusta , ME 04333-0028

207-287-3701 (Office)

207-624-5044 (Fax)

E-Mail: donald.e.hoenig@maine.gov

Web site: www.state.me.us/agriculture

 

Maryland

 

Guy Hohenhaus, DVM, State Veterinarian

Tom Jacobs, DVM, Assistant State Veterinarian

Animal Health Program

Maryland Department of Agriculture

50 Harry S. Truman Pkwy.

Annapolis , MD 21401

410-841-5810 (Office)

410-841-5999 (Fax)

E-Mail: hohengs@mda.state.md.us – Dr. Hohenhaus

E-Mail: jacobst@mda.state.md.us – Dr. Jacobs

Web site: www.mda.state.md.us

 

Massachusetts

 

State Veterinarian

Division of Biosecurity and Regulatory Services

251 Causeway Street, Suite 500

Boston , MA 02114 -2151

617-626-1795 (Office)

617-626-1850 (Fax)

Web site: www.mass.gov/agr

 

Michigan

 

Steven L. Halstead, DVM , MS , State Veterinarian

Michigan Department of Agriculture

Animal Industry Division

P.O. Box 30017

Lansing , MI 48909

517-373-1077 (Office)

517-241-4502 (Fax)

E-Mail: halsteads@michigan.gov

Web site: www.michigan.gov

 

Minnesota

 

Dr. William L. Hartmann, Executive Director and State Veterinarian

State of Minnesota

Board of Animal Health

625 Robert Street, North

St. Paul , MN 55155

651-296-2942 (Office

651-296-7417 (Fax)

E-Mail: bill.hartmann@bah.state.mn.us

Web site: www.bah.state.mn.us

 

Mississippi

 

Dr. James A. Watson, State Veterinarian

Mississippi Board of Animal Health

P.O. Box 3889

Jackson , MS 39207

601-359-1170 (Office)

601-359-1177 (Fax)

E-Mail: jimw@mdac.state.ms.us

Web site: www.mbah.state.ms.us

 

Missouri

 

Taylor Woods, DVM, Acting State Veterinarian

Missouri Department of Agriculture

Division of Animal Health

P.O. Box 630

Jefferson City , MO 65102-0630

573-751-3377 (Office)

573-751-6919 (Fax)

E-Mail: taylor.woods@mda.mo.gov

Web site: www.mda.mo.gov

 

Montana

 

Martin Zaluski, DVM, State Veterinarian and Administrator

Montana Department of Livestock

Animal Health Division

P.O. Box 202001

Helena , MT 59620-2001

406-444-2043 (Office)

406-444-1929 (Fax)

Web site: www.mt.gov/liv/

 

Nebraska

 

Dr. Dennis A. Hughes, State Veterinarian

Nebraska Department of Agriculture

Bureau of Animal Industry

P.O. Box 94787

Lincoln , NE 68509

402-471-2351 (Office)

402-471-6893 (Fax)

E-Mail: dhughes@agr.ne.gov

Web site: www.agr.state.ne.us

 

Nevada

 

Dr. Anette Rink, Acting State Veterinarian

Division of Animal Industry

Nevada Department of Agriculture

350 Capitol Hill Avenue

Reno , NV 89502

775-688-1180 (Office)

775-688-1733 (Fax)

E-Mail: arink@agri.state.nv.us

Web site: www.agri.state.nv.us

 

New Hampshire

 

Dr. Stephen K. Crawford, State Veterinarian

New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets and Food

P.O. Box 2042

Concord , NH 03302-2042

603-271-2404 (Office)

603-271-1109 (Fax)

E-Mail: scrawford@agr.state.nh.us

Web site: www.agriculture.nh.gov

 

New Jersey

 

Dr. Nancy E. Halpern, Director

Division of Animal Health

Department of Agriculture

P.O. Box 330

Trenton , NJ 08625

609-292-3965 (Office)

609-777-8395 (Fax)

E-Mail: nancy.halpern@ag.state.nj.us

Web site: www.state.nj.us/agriculture/animal.htm

 

New Mexico

 

Dr. Dave E. Fly, State Veterinarian

New Mexico Livestock Board

300 San Mateo Blvd. NE, Suite 1000

Albuquerque , NM 87108-1500

505-841-6161 (Office)

505-841-6160 (Fax)

E-Mail: dave.fly@state.nm.us

Web site: www.nmlbonline.com/

 

New York

 

Dr. John P. Huntley, Director

Division of Animal Industry

Department of Agriculture and Markets

10B Airline Drive

Albany , NY 12235

518-457-3502 (Office)

518-485-7773 (Fax)

E-Mail: john.huntley@agmkt.state.ny.us

Web site: www.agmkt.state.ny.us

 

North Carolina

 

Dr. David T. Marshall, State Veterinarian and Director of Diagnostic Laboratories

Veterinary Division

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

1030 Mail Service Center

Raleigh , NC 27699-1030

919-733-7601 (Office)

919-733-2277 (Fax)

E-Mail: david.marshall@ncmail.net

Web site: www.agr.state.nc.us/vet

 

North Dakota

 

Dr. Susan J. Keller, State Veterinarian

North Dakota State Board of Animal Health

North Dakota Department of Agriculture

600 E. Boulevard Avenue, Dept. 602

Bismarck , ND 58505-0020

701-328-2655 (Office)

701-328-4567 (Fax)

E-Mail: skeller@nd.gov

Web site: www.state.nd.us

 

Ohio

 

Dr. Tony M. Forshey, Chief

Division of Animal Industry

Ohio Department of Agriculture

8995 E. Main Street , Bldg. 6

Reynoldsburg , OH 43068

614-728-6220 (Office)

614-728-6310 (Fax)

E-Mail: tforshey@mail.agri.state.oh.us

Web site: www.ohioagriculture.gov

 

Oklahoma

 

Dr. Becky Brewer-Walker, Director and State Veterinarian

Oklahoma Animal Industry Services Division

2800 N. Lincoln Boulevard

P.O. Box 528804

Oklahoma City , OK 73105

405-522-6131 (Office)

405-522-0756 (Fax)

E-Mail: becky.brewer@oda.state.ok.us

Web site: www.oda.state.ok.us

 

Oregon

 

Dr. Donald E. Hansen, State Veterinarian

Oregon Department of Agriculture

635 Capitol Street, NE

Salem , OR 97301

503-986-4680 (Office)

503-986-4734 (Fax)

E-Mail: dhansen@oda.state.or.us

Web site: www.oregon.gov/oda/ahid

 

Pennsylvania

 

Dr. Paul E. Knepley, State Veterinarian

Bureau of Animal Health and Diagnostic Services

Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture

2301 N. Cameron Street

Harrisburg , PA 17110-9408

717-772-2852 (Office)

717-787-1868 (Fax)

E-Mail: pknepley@state.pa.us

Web site: www.pda.state.pa.us

 

Puerto Rico

 

Dr. Hector J. Diaz, State Veterinarian

Department of Agriculture

Hwy. 693-Kilometer 40 Barrio Higuillar

Dorado, PR 00646

P.O. Box 10163 (Mail address)

San Juan , PR 00908-1163

787-796-1650 (Office)

787-796-5873 (Fax)

E-Mail: hjddvm@aol.com

 

Rhode Island

 

Peter Belinsky, VMD, Public State Veterinarian

Scott Marshall, DVM; Public Health Veterinarian

Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management

Division of Agriculture/Animal Health

235 Promenade Street , Room 370

Providence , RI 02908 -5767

401-222-2781 (Office)

401-222-6047 (Fax)

E-Mail: peter.belinsky@dem.ri.gov – Dr Belinsky

E-Mail: scott.marshall@dem.ri.gov – Dr. Marshall

Web site: www.dem.ri.gov

 

South Carolina

 

Dr. John A. Caver, State Veterinarian and Director

Clemson University Livestock-Poultry Health Division

P.O. Box 102406

Columbia , SC 29224-2406

803-788-2260 (Office) Ext. 234

803-788-8058 (Fax)

E-Mail: jcaver@clemson.edu

 

South Dakota

 

Dr. Sam D. Holland, State Veterinarian and Executive Secretary

South Dakota Animal Industry Board

411 S. Fort Street

Pierre , SD 57501-4503

605-773-3321 (Office)

605-773-5459 (Fax)

E-Mail: dr.holland@state.sd.us

Web site: www.state.sd.us/aib/

 

Tennessee

 

Dr. Ronald B. Wilson, State Veterinarian

Tennessee Department of Agriculture

P.O. Box 40627

Nashville , TN 37204

615-837-5120 (Office)

615-837-5250 (Fax)

E-Mail: ron.wilson@state.tn.us

Web site: www.state.tn.us/agriculture/regulate/animals/index.html

 

Texas

Dr. Bob Hillman, State Veterinarian

Texas Animal Health Commission

2105 Kramer Lane (Zip 78758)

P.O. Box 12966

Austin , TX 78711-2966

512-719-0700 (Office)

512-719-0721 (Fax)

E-Mail: bhillman@tahc.state.tx.us

Web site: www.tahc.state.tx.us

 

Utah

 

L. Earl Rogers, DVM, State Veterinarian

Utah Department of Agriculture and Food

P.O. Box 146500

Salt Lake City , UT 84114-6500

801-538-7162 (Office)

801-538-7169 (Fax)

E-Mail: erogers@utah.gov

Web site: www.ag.utah.gov

 

Vermont

 

Kerry A. Rood, MS, DVM, State Veterinarian

Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets

116 State Street , Drawer 20

Montpelier , VT 05620-2901

802-828-2421 (Office)

802-828-5983 (Fax)

E-Mail: kerry.rood@state.vt.us

Web site: www.vermontagriculture.com

 

Virgin Islands

 

Dr Bethany Bradford, Director of Veterinary Medicine

VIDA

Department of Agriculture

Estate Lower Love

Kingshill, St. Croix , VI 00850

340-778-0997 (Office) Ext. 241

340-779-7977 (Fax)

 

Virginia

 

Dr. Richard Wilkes, State Veterinarian and Director

Division of Animal and Food Industry Services

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

102 Governor Street

Richmond , VA 23219

804-692-0601 (Office)

804-371-2380 (Fax)

E-Mail: richard.wilkes@vdacs.virginia.gov

Web site: www.vdacs.virginia.gov

 

Washington

 

Dr. Leonard Eldridge, State Veterinarian

Animal Services Division

Washington State Department of Agriculture

P.O. Box 42577

Olympia , WA 98504-2577

360-902-1878 (Office)

360-902-2087 (Fax)

E-Mail: leldridge@agr.wa.gov

Web site: http://agr.wa.gov/foodanimal/animalhealth/default.htm

 

West Virginia

 

Dr. L. Joe Starcher, State Veterinarian

West Virginia Department of Agriculture

State Capitol

1900 Kanawha Boulevard East

Charleston , WV 25305-0172

304-558-2214 (Office)

304-558-2231 (Fax)

E-Mail: jstarcher@ag.state.wv.us

Web site: www.wvagriculture.org

 

Wisconsin

 

Dr. Robert G. Ehlenfeldt, State Veterinarian

Division of Animal Health

Department of Agriculture

Trade and Consumer Protection

P.O. Box 8911

Madison , WI 53708-8911

608-224-4872 (Office)

608-224-4871 (Fax)

E-Mail: robert.ehlenfeldt@wisconsin.gov

Web site: www.datcp.state.wi.us

Wyoming

 

Walter E. Cook, DVM, State Veterinarian

Jim Logan, DVM, Assistant State Veterinarian

Wyoming Livestock Board

2020 Carey Avenue , 4th Floor

Cheyenne , WY 82002-0051

307-777-6443 (Office)

307-777-6561 (Fax)

E-Mail: wcook2@state.wy.us

Web site: www.state.wy.us